The Set of Standards of HEI Accrediatation by the Ministry of Education and Training (MoET)


About the set of standards of HEI accrediatation by the Ministry of Education and Training (MoET):

On 23th May, 2013, the Department of Education Testing and Quality Assurance issued the letter No. 527/KTKĐCLGD-KĐĐH guiding the use of criteria in HEI accreditation for self-assessment by HEIs since 2013. The new set of standards of HEI accrediatation (2007) was stipulated by MoET on 1st November, 2007 (the older version was in 2004). The new set of standards does not set goals of achievement as before (meaning there are no “preset” limits and thus avoiding “cooked” profiles or “virtual” evidences). The new set of standards sets clearer and more specific criteria in cohesiveness with charter, mission, and research orientation of the school. It comprises 10 standards and 61 criteria (the older version has 10 standards – 53 criteria) of which some new criteria were added while others were splitted or merged into a new criterion.

Standard No 1: The goal and mission of a university

Standard No 2: Organization and Administration

Standard No 3: Educational Program

Standard No 4: Training Activity

Standard No 5: Managerial Staff, Lecturers, and Employees

Standard No 6: Learners

Standard No 7: Research & Development, Technology Transfer

Standard No 8: International Collaboration

Standard No 9: Library, Educational Infra-structure & Other Facilities

Standard No 10: Finance and Financial Management


Self-assessment is a routine work for most universities in the world, especially in developed countries. Self-assessment report is the result of a process in which the institution evaluates, studies, and cross check by themselves based on the standards set forth by MoET in order to generate a status report on education quality, training efficiency, science research, labour force, human resources, infra-structure and facilities, etc. Upon the report, the institution will adjust its resources and processes in order to obtain quality criteria. 

UEH performed the 1st phase of quality assurance at institution level in 2009 and was accredited by 3rd party assessors at level 2 (which is higher than required criteria). After 5 years of self-improvement, UEH continued to perform a self-assessment to improve training quality and adjusting objectives (if necessary) for the next phase in accordance with the school’s strategy. Additionally, self-assessment report is the base for 3rd parties to accredite. UEH perceives that accreditation is to self-affirm its education quality and to be accredited according to the Set of Standards of Quality Assurance in HEIs. It is the motive that urgeD UEH to continue proceeding with the self-assessment phase II (2010-2015).

After the completion of phase II, UEH moved forward with application for accreditation at institution level and has been accreditated at the institutional level by the Center for Educational Accreditation – Vietnam National University Ho Chi Minh City in 2017 with rather high ranking (88,5%) ranked 2nd among HE Institutions accredited and recognised. The university has applied AUN QA at the programme level since 2010..

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.